Today’s Thoughts: As Time Goes By

DSC_0227
Friends | Pieces of our puzzle that we find along the way

The past few weeks have been filled with lots of adventure, new friends, new places, and not much sleep. I traveled to Seattle to spend time with friends and loved ones, then headed to D.C. for Planet Forward’s Feeding the Planet Summit (look out for a post about my experience soon!), and then back to Tennessee for a family gathering. Now that I’m back on campus, I’ve started to realize just how little time I have left at Sewanee – the mountain that has been my home for the past 4 years.

Yesterday was the last day of classes, and I spent it celebrating with friends reminiscing about past trips, nights out, relationships, and the funny yet somewhat questionable decisions we’ve made. In looking towards the future – an apprenticeship with Firsthand Foods this summer and Vermont Law School in the fall – I’m so thankful to Sewanee for providing the space, the people, and the experiences that molded me into being more comfortable, more proud, and more at ease with who I am, who I used to be, and my aspirations for growth in the future. If you told me 4 years ago that I would become an activist for local food systems, intentional communities, and sustainably produced meat, I would have responded with a look of shock. Life is so funny.

Over the years, I've worked to overcome fears of criticism and inadequacy, and presenting at the Feeding the Planet Summit was an amazingly rewarding experience showing me just how much we can change
Over the years, I’ve worked to overcome fears of criticism and inadequacy, and presenting at the Feeding the Planet Summit was an amazingly rewarding experience showing me just how much we can change

This excerpt from Slouching Towards Bethlehem captures much of what I’m feeling —

“I think we are well advised to keep on nodding terms with the people we used to be, whether we find them attractive company or not. Otherwise they turn up unannounced and surprise us, come hammering on the mind’s door at 4 a.m. of a bad night and demand to know who deserted them, who betrayed them, who is going to make amends. We forget all too soon the things we thought we could never forget. We forget the loves and the betrayals alike, forget what we whispered and what we screamed, forget who we were. I have already lost touch with a couple of people I used to be…

– Joan Didion

DSC_0112
Thanks Sewanee, for all those you’ve brought into my life

Time changes so many things. In looking back at past years, months, days, weeks, hours, and seconds, it’s crazy to think how much we are molded by all those who cross our path, all experiences that come our way, all things said, all unsaid, all regretted, all forgotten and all that never leaves us. In looking back, I really have lost touch with different versions of myself, but along the crazy journey, I’ve become much closer to knowing my center.

Wishing everyone the best of luck with end of year assignments, finals, and plans for the future!

– E 

Leave a Reply

